150 Years of the Great Northern Railway (Ireland)
- Táilte Tours
- Jul 14
- 7 min read
Updated: Jul 16
At its peak, the Great Northern Railway of Ireland had some 617 route miles of track, extending from Dublin to points such as Belfast, Derry, and Bundoran, and many places in between. With 2026 marking the 150th Anniversary of the creation of this concern, in this article, we shall explore the history of GNR and its legacy today.

The origins of the GNR
While the GNR was formed as an entity in 1876, its roots go back much earlier. In fact, direct services between Dublin and Belfast, its main thoroughfare, had been operating for some decades prior. In 1852, the Dublin & Belfast Junction Railway was completed, enabling trains between the two cities, linking the Dublin & Drogheda Railway with the Ulster Railway, which ran from Belfast to Portadown. The Dublin & Drogheda Railway had branches to Howth and Oldcastle (via Navan). By the 1870s, the Ulster Railway had opened branches to Banbridge, Omagh, and Antrim.
In 1875, the Dublin & Drogheda Railway merged with the Dublin & Belfast Junction Railway to form the Northern of Ireland.
Meanwhile, the Irish North Western Railway formed a link between Dundalk and Derry-Londonderry, consisting of the lines of the Dundalk & Enniskillen Railway and the Londonderry & Enniskillen Railway, with branches running to places such as Clones and Bundoran.
The Northern Railway of Ireland proved to be a short-lived concern, for in 1876, it merged with the Ulster Railway and the Irish North Western Railway to become the Great Northern Railway of Ireland. The newly formed GNR(I) was now the second largest railway company in Ireland, with only the Great Southern & Western Railway having a greater route mileage.
Further expansion
The GNR opened a short branch off the former Irish North Western line in 1883. Unusually, the passenger service was worked by a horse-drawn tramcar, although steam traction would be used for goods services. In 1886, the GNR would expand further through the acquisition of the Newry, Warrenpoint & Rostrevor Railway. In 1901, it added an electric tramway to its portfolio, with the opening of the Hill of Howth Tramway.
The GNR and Partition
The Partition of Ireland of 1921 was to have lasting ramifications on the GNR, whose lines crossed the new border at a number of locations. It was left out of the Great Southern Railways amalgamation of 1924-1925, along with the other companies that had cross-border routes. This meant that all GNR trains had to stop for customs examinations at border stations, principally Dundalk and Goraghwood, as far as the mainline was concerned.
Rising to the competition
As with all railways, the GNR started to face increasing competition from motorised road transport in the 1920s. This led to it establishing its own road passenger services from 1929, taking over several omnibus companies in the process. The formation of the Northern Ireland Road Transport Board led to it having to hand over its internal Northern Ireland bus services in 1935. Its cross-border bus services and those contained entirely south of the border continued to operate.
Despite the growth in popularity of road transport, the GNR did not rest on its laurels as far rail development was concerned. Innovatively, it developed a series of railbus vehicles at its Dundalk works, for use on lines with light traffic. These were exactly as the name suggests, road buses converted to run on rails. R.W. Meredtih, the manager at Dundalk Works, was highly influential in the GNR’s adoption of such traction, along with Civil Engineer, later General Manager, G.B. Howden. A key innovation here was a steel/pneumatic railbus tyre, patented as Howden-Meredith. The GNR would later go on to order a fleet of diesel railcars from AEC, which arrived in 1950.
Steam traction continued to be developed into the 1930s and 40s, size constraints at Dundalk Works meant that the company never grew beyond the 4-4-0 wheel arrangement, while other companies, such as the GSR, were employing 2-6-0 and 4-6-0 locomotives. Indeed, the GNR was still outputting new 4-4-0 locomotives as late as 1948, when the VS class arrived. These were quite likely the last 4-4-0s built for regular mainline service in the world.
Just as it had responded to the development of road transport in the 1920s, so too did the GNR rise to the challenge of air transport in the 1940s. In 1947, it launched a new, non-stop express from Belfast to Dublin in response to Aer Lingus operating an air service between the two cities. Branded as the ‘Enterprise’, this was a bold departure, with a striking new blue & cream livery deployed on the carriages. A Dublin-based ‘Enterprise’ commenced operation in 1948. The ‘Enterprise’ brand survives to this very day, although it is no longer a non-stop service. From 1950 to 1953, the ‘Enterprise’ was extended through to Cork during the summer months, with a CIE locomotive taking over in Dublin.

Despite its prestigious new express, the financial fortunes of the GNR took a downturn from 1949 to the point that its board was threatening closure in late 1950. Despite cash injection from both Dublin and Stormont governments, the GNR’s deficits only grew further. This led to the creation of the Great Northern Railway Board, or GNR(B), by the two governments in 1953. The next few years would see some contraction, with several branch lines such as that to Fintona closing. The former Irish North Western Railway line from Dundalk to Enniskillen also closed during this period. Further diesel railcars and a solitary diesel locomotive from the German firm of MAK were ordered during this period.
The end of the GNR
Both governments decided to end the joint operation in 1957, with the GNR(B) ceasing in 1958. At this point, the assets of the GNR were divided between Córas Iompair Éireann (CIÉ) in the Irish Republic and the Ulster Transport Authority (UTA) in Northern Ireland, while Dundalk Works became an independent company. The fleet was more or less divided equally between the two transport operators, who naturally gained control of the lines on their respective sides of the border. Thus, the GNR identity ceased to exist after some 82 years.
The GNR and ‘brand identity’

Perhaps one of the reasons the GNR remains so iconic was down to its branding. The company employed the architect W.H. Mills to design many of its stations, leading to a distinct yellow brick style emanating across the system. This was quite distinct from that of other Irish railway companies. It continued to operate teak carriages into the 1940s, again, quite different to those of the other Irish companies. This was replaced by an equally distinct blue and cream livery, which had also adorned its buses and trams, reputedly inspired by the airline liveries that the company was now competing with. This idea of distinct ‘branding’ extended to its passenger locomotives. Ask many railway enthusiasts what springs to mind when you say ‘GNR’ and images of sky blue steam locomotives will be conjured up. Although sky blue was undoubtedly its most prolific livery, it is worth noting that the company had previously painted its locomotives in a green livery, not unlike that of its counterpart, the GNR of England. A lined black livery was used in the period between, persisting on some 4-4-0s and tank engines into the company’s final days.
Like the GSR, the GNR also capitalised on the potential of rail transport for tourism. 'Mystery Train' excursions were operated, along with 'Hills of Donegal' tours in association with the County Donegal Railway Joint Committee, in which the GNR had a stake.
What remains of the GNR today?

Much survives of the GNR today. Its mainline continues to provide an important link between Dublin and Belfast, with ‘Enterprise’ services now jointly operated by Iarnród Éireann and Translink NI Railways, with each company also operating substantial commuter routes at each end of the route. While the Warrenpoint and Londonderry-Derry routes were closed in 1965, the Antrim branch remains intact, although passenger services ceased in 2003. The Howth branch remains busy to this day, having been part of the DART network since 1984. Additionally, the Oldcastle branch remains intact to a point just beyond Navan, having been retained for use by an ore train from Tara Mines.
Several of the GNR’s distinct yellow brick station buildings, designed by W.H. Mills, survive, such as those at Howth, Malahide, Dundalk, and Lisburn. Dundalk station is particularly notable, for it contains a small museum displaying various photos and artefacts. Several of the GNR's signal cabins still exist, with the one in Navan still nominally in use. The former Gormastown signal cabin is now located at the Cavan & Leitrim Railway Museum in Dromod, while Bundoran Junction signal cabin has been relocated to the Downpatrick & County Down Railway, where it has been extensively restored as Downpatrick East Cabin.

No less than four of GNR steam locomotives have been preserved, with two 4-4-0s, Nos. 131 and 171, owned by the Railway Preservation Society of Ireland, while the Ulster Transport Museum owns 4-4-0 No.85 and 2-4-2 tank engine No.93. Various carriages have been preserved by both the RPSI and the Downpatrick & County Down Railway. In addition, one of the company’s innovative railbuses is on display at the Ulster Transport Museum, along with a Howth tramcar and the erstwhile Fionta tram car. Three other Howth tramcars survive. These are located at the National Transport Museum in Howth, the Southern California Railway Museum, and the National Tramway Museum in England. A handful of freight vehicles have been preserved, as have some of the company's buses.
Now, almost seven decades after it ceased to exist, there’s no denying the GNR made a lasting impression on the shape of Irish transport. Its legacy will no doubt continue to inform its future development.



Comments